Drug Crimes in New Jersey and Pennsylvania: What is Drug Possession?
New Jersey classifies controlled dangerous substances (CDS) such as marijuana, heroin and cocaine, and the chemicals used to manufacture them. The drug laws in New Jersey are severe, so if you have been charged with drug possession, it makes sense to contact an experienced drug possession defense attorney who will defend your rights in the criminal justice system.
Penalties for drug possession depend largely on the type of drug and the amount you have been charged with possessing (see NJ Statute 2C:35-10). Drug charges are classified as crimes in the first through the fourth degree. Penalties can vary from paying a $1,000 fine and six months jail time for 50g or less to a $25,000 fine and up to 1.5 years for more than 50g of marijuana.
Possession of narcotics, which includes cocaine, heroin, methamphetamine, acid, ecstasy, LSD and other CDS, you could face fines of $1,000-$25,000 depending on the quantity, 3-5 years in prison, loss of driving privileges and mandatory drug rehab.
If you are caught within 1,000 feet of a school, your penalties will increase, with additional time in prison and 100 hours of community service.
These penalties are for first-time offenders. Second and subsequent offenses will carry increased fines and jail time. Talking to a New Jersey drug possession lawyer can help you discover your options, and they can advise you on the best course of action given the facts of your case.
If you have been charged with a drug crime it does not mean that you will be convicted. Schedule a consultation with an experienced drug crimes lawyer who will listen to you and then discuss the options for building a strong defense against the drug possession charges. Attorney David Jay Glassman represents clients who are facing state or federal drug or other criminal charges.